THE 11TH IEEE/ACM* INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON MODELING, ANALYSIS AND SIMULATION OF COMPUTER AND TELECOMMUNICATION SYSTEMS

MASCOTS 2003

October 2003, Orlando Venue: Orlando Airport Marriott

7499 Augusta National Drive Orlando, FL 32822

* IEEE/ACM- Approval Pending

Scope

The scope of the symposium includes, but is not limited to:

- Computer Architecture Modeling and Simulation
- Parallel and Distributed Systems
- Real-Time and Multimedia Systems
- Internetworking Protocol and Performance
- Wireless and Mobile Networking and Computing
- Broadband and Telecommunication Networks and Software
- Network Traffic Studies
- Web-Based Systems
- Application areas such as databases
- Analysis Techniques and Formal Methods
- Benchmarking and Measurement Techniques
- Capacity Planning
- Performance Analysis and Validation Techniques
- Workload Characterization and Generation
- Discrete Event Simulation methodology and Tools
- Middleware Performance (Object Oriented, Parallel Simulation etc.)

Authors are encouraged to submit both theoretical and practical results of significance which have not been published elsewhere. The proceedings will be published by IEEE.

TOOLS TRACK

Authors are encouraged to submit papers describing tools suitable for on-line demonstration. The tools papers will undergo a regular review process and will be published in the conference proceedings in a dedicated tools section. Separate sessions

are planned where these tools will be demonstrated on-line. Projection systems capable for projecting from laptop screens and videotapes will be available. The authors are required to bring any additional equipment necessary for demonstration. Questions regarding tools track should be directed to the tools co-chairs.

PAPER SUBMISSION INFORMATION

Papers must not exceed 20 double-spaced pages with a minimum of 10-point font and must include an abstract, keywords, authors contact information (providing both postal and email addresses). Papers must be unpublished original work and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. Authors of both regular and tool papers are strongly encouraged to submit their papers in electronic form (PDF or PostScript). Those unable to use electronic means should mail five (5) complete copies of the paper to either Prof. Gabriele Kotsis by May 9th, 2003.

A link to Web-based paper registration and submission will be added in time.

CALL FOR WORKSHOPS

Proposals for half-day workshops are solicited on timely topics related to the above areas. The workshop proposal must include a description of topics presented and biographies of potential presenters. Send workshop proposals directly to the workshops chair.

CALL FOR TUTORIALS

Proposals for half-day or full-day tutorials are solicited on timely topics related to the above areas. The tutorial proposal must include description and length of the tutorial, breakdown of topics, and biographies of the presenters. Send tutorial proposals directly to the tutorials chair.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

General Chair

Erol Gelenbe University of Central Florida erol@cs.ucf.edu

Program Chair

Gabriele Kotsis
Telecooperation Department
Johannes Kepler University Linz
Altenberger Strasse 69
A-4040 Linz, Austria
Phone: +43 732 2468 9238
Fax: +43 732 2468 9829

gabriele.kotsis@jku.ac.at

Workshop Chair

Ramon Puigjaner Univerity of the Baleares (Spain) putxi@uib.es

Tools Chair

Jane Hillston University of Edinburgh Scotland, UK ieh@inf.ed.ac.uk

Tutorials Chair

Mariacarla Calzarossa Italy mcc@unipv.it

Finance Chair

David Finkel Computer Science Department Worcester Polytechnic Institute 100 Institute Road Worcester, MA 01609, USA Phone: (508) 831-5416 Fax: (508) 831-5776 dfinkel@wpi.edu

Publicity Co-Chairs

Khaled Hussain and Ricardo Lent University of Central Florida {khaled,rlent}@cs.ucf.edu

Local Arrangements Chair

Amy Wedel Division of Continuing Education University of Central Florida 407-882-0241 awedel@mail.ucf.edu

Program Committee

Dharma P. Agrawal, University of Cincinnatti, USA Khalid Al-Begain, Bradford University, UK Mostafa Bassiouni, University of Central Florida, USA Monique Becker, INT, France Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna, Italy Azzeddine Boukerche, University of North Texas, USA Gregor Bochman, University of Ottawa, Canada

Sajal K. Das, Univ. of Texas at Arlington, USA Samir Das, University of Cincinnatti, USA Alois Ferscha, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria David Finkel, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA Jean Michel Fourneau, University of Versailles, France Ratan Guha, University of Central Florida, USA Guenter Haring, University of Vienna, Austria Peter Harrison, Imperial College, UK Hossam Hossanein, Queens University, Canada Sungbum Hong, University of North Texas. USA Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece Darrell Long, UC Santa Cruz, USA Shikharesh Majumdar, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada Raymond Marie, IRISA, France Dan Marinescu, University of Central Florida, USA Daniel A. Menasce, George Mason University, USA David Nicol, Dartmouth College, USA Mohamed Ould-Khaoua, University of Glasgow, UK Nihal Pekergin, University of Versailles St-Quentin, France Ramon Puigianer, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain William H. Sanders, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign, USA Mirela Sechi M. A. Notare, Barddal University, SC, Brazil S V Raghavan, IIT Madras, India Gerardo Rubino, IRISA, France J. Bosco M. Sobral, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil Kishor S. Trivedi. Duke University. USA Carl Tropper, McGill University, Canada Salvatore Tucci, University of Rome II, Italy Carey Williamson, University of Calgary, Canada Murray Woodside, Carleton University, Canada Zhiguang Xu. University of Central Florida. USA Jason Lin Yi-Bing, National Chiao-Tung Univ. Taiwan

Albert Y. Zomaya, The University of Western Australia